Newsletter—October 2019

New Members of the House of Delegates

Following the recommendations of the Baltimore County Democratic Central Committee, Governor Larry Hogan has officially appointed Cathi Forbes and Carl Jackson to the Maryland House of Delegates. Ms. Forbes is a Mediation Coordinator for the Orphans’ Court of Baltimore County and will represent District 42A, filling the seat recently vacated by Stephen Lafferty. Mr. Jackson, filling the seat of Eric Bromwell, is an Analyst at the University of Maryland School of Social Work and will represent District 8.

People on the Move

Kim Coble has been appointed the new Executive Director of the Maryland League of Conservation Voters. Ms. Coble has been a well-known leader with the Chesapeake Bay Foundation for several years.  

David Cooney has been appointed the Associate Commissioner for Life & Health Insurance with the Maryland Insurance Administration. Mr. Cooney previously served as Chief of Health Insurance and Managed Care. 

Renee Dain has taken the position of Senior Vice President of Strategic Partnerships and External Affairs at The Coordinating Center. Ms. Dain has been with the organization since 2015, serving as Vice President of Business Development and Social Innovation.

Lesa Diehl has started a new position as CEO in Training at the Thomas B. Finan Center, working with current CEO John Cullen until his retirement. Ms. Diehl has been Director of Allegany County’s Behavioral Health System’s Office for almost 15 years.

Hannah Dier has taken a Budget Analyst position with the Anne Arundel County Budget Office. Ms. Dier was formerly committee staff to the House Appropriations Committee

Susan Francis has been promoted to Executive Director of Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service. Ms. Francis has been with the organization since 2013 and fills the position vacated by Bonnie Sullivan who has retired after more than 11 years in leadership at the organization.

Kelsey Fung, Counsel to the House Ways and Means Committee, is transitioning to a new committee staff role with the Washington State Senate.

Jay Hutchins has been appointed as Vice President of Public Affairs for Planned Parenthood of Maryland. Mr. Hutchins previously served as the Legislative Director and Acting Executive Director of Maryland Working Families.

Beth McCoy has taken a Budget Analysts position with the Anne Arundel County Budget Office.  Ms. McCoy was formerly a Budget Analyst with the Maryland Department of Budget and Management.

Jody Sprinkle has been appointed as Director of Government Affairs for TEDCO.  Ms. Sprinkle is a former Principle Policy Analyst who staffed the House Appropriations Committee.

Susan Tangires has moved to a position with Kolmac Outpatient Recovery Centers as the Clinical Director for a brand new location in Annapolis (opening in November). Ms. Tangires has been in the field of substance use disorder treatment for more than 20 years.

Ann Walsh has taken the position of Program Manager for Health Analytics Solutions at General Dynamics Information Technology. Ms. Walsh had previously been with Community Behavioral Health Association of Maryland and the Maryland Department of Health.

Jessica Wheeler has been named Deputy Director of the Governor’s Office for Children. Ms. Wheeler is also the current Chief of Juvenile Justice and Prevention Services with the Governor’s Office on Crime Control and Prevention.

Samantha Zwerling has taken the position of Government Relations Organizational Specialist for the Maryland State Education Association. Ms. Zwerling has spent the last 5 years working in the Maryland State Legislature for House Speakers Mike Busch and Adrienne Jones, and former Senator Rich Madaleno.


Liz McCaman and Robyn Elliott presented at this year’s annual conference of the American Society on Emergency Contraception.  The topic was “The 50-State Legal Landscape of Sale of Emergency Contraception in Vending Machines.”

Congratulations to Mindy Binderman, Executive Director of Georgia Early Education Alliance for Ready Students. The organization was the recipient of the 2019 Annual Tocqueville Society’s Mark O'Connell Community Impact Award. The award recognizes their significant strides to advance child well-being.

Marlene Clarke, Assistant Director of Seedco’s Baltimore office, received the Leadership award at the Maryland Workforce Association Raising the Bar conference. Ms. Clarke was recognized for her leadership in Seedco’s workforce development programs in Baltimore.

Emma Donnelly, Maine Advocate, and Maine State Representative Maureen Terry were honored with the Charlotte Ellertson Award for successful legislation that lifted a ban on the sale of emergency contraception in vending machines in Maine.  The award was presented at the annual conference of the American Society for Emergency Contraception.


Liz McCaman of the National Health Law Program (left) and Robyn Elliott of Public Policy Partners (right) present the Charlotte Ellertson Award to Emma Donnelly (center).



SustainableAnnapolislogoHD1 logolinkedinHD1